1991: The Thomas Merton Award
For work on national and international issues that transform our world.

1996: Peace Abbey Courage of Conscience Award
For leadership in the Peace Movement and for giving voice to the victims of oppression and for his revealing book, A People’s History of the United States.

1998: Eugene V. Debs Award
For work that has been in the spirit of Debs and who has contributed to the advancement of the causes of industrial unionism, social justice, or world peace.

1999: Upton Sinclair Award
Honors those whose work illustrates an abiding commitment to social justice and equality.

2001: Otis Social Justice Award
Honors the women and men who bring members of the community closer to compassionate action.

2003: Prix des Amis du Monde diplomatique
Award is given to books whose contribution it deems most significant.

2006: Havens Center Award for Lifetime Contribution to Critical Scholarship For a distinguished and extensive record of scholarly achievement in the critical tradition of social thought. View Zinn’s acceptance lecture, “The Uses of History and the War on Terrorism.”
2010: The Ridenhour Courage Prize For his determination to showcase the hidden heroes of social movements throughout history, his refusal to accept the history of only the powerful and victorious, his steadfast belief in the potential for a better world, his unflinching moral stance on fighting whatever he perceived was wrong in society, his fight to inspire students to believe that together they could make democracy come alive, and, in the words of his former student Alice Walker, “his way with resistance.” View film footage of Jeff Zinn accepting the award on behalf of his father.
Read, Learn, & Make History
Check out the Howard Zinn Digital Collection to search Zinn’s bibliography by books, articles, audio, video, and more.
Share This Page:
Like on Facebook